C കേരള സർക്കാർ Government of Kerala 2024



Regn.No. KERBIL/2012/45073 dated 05-09-2012 with RNI Reg No.KL/TV(N)/634/2021-2023

# കേരള ഗസറ്റ KERALA GAZET അസാധാരണം **EXTRAORDINARY**

ആധികാരികമായി പ്രസിദ്ധപ്പെടുത്തുന്നത് PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

വാല്യം 13 Vol. XIII

തിരുവനന്തപുരം, വെള്ളി

Thiruvananthapuram, Friday

2024 മാർച്ച് 22 22nd March 2024 1199 മീനം 9 9th Meenam 1199 1946 ചൈത്രം 2

2nd Chaithra 1946

നമ്പർ 1111 No

# GOVERNMENT OF KERALA

# **Election (General) Department**

# NOTIFICATION

No. EL7/11/2024/Elec.

Dated, Thiruvananthapuram, 21st March, 2024.

The Election Commission of India's Notification No. 3/4/ID/2024/SDR/Vol.I dated 19th March, 2024 is hereby republished.

By order of the Governor,

SANJAY M. KAUL, Secretary and Chief Electoral Officer.



To be published in the Extraordinary issue of the Gazette of India, Part-II, Section 3(iii), immediately and republished in the official Gazette of all States/UTs.

# **ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA**

Nirvachan Sadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi-110001

No.3/4/ID/2024/SDR/VOL.I

Dated: 19<sup>th</sup> March, 2024

## <u>ORDER</u>

1. Whereas, Section 61 of the Representation of the People Act, 1951 provides that with a view to preventing personation of electors, so as to make the right of genuine electors to vote under section 62 of that Act more effective, provisions may be made by rules under that Act for use of Electors Photo Identity Card for electors as the means of establishing their identity at the time of polling; and

2. Whereas, Rule 28 of the Registration of Electors Rules, 1960, empowers the Election Commission to direct, with a view to preventing personation of electors and facilitating their identification at the time of poll, issue of Electors Photo Identity Card to electors bearing their photographs at State cost; and

3. Whereas, Rules 49H (3) and 49K (2) (b) of the Conduct of Elections Rules, 1961, stipulate that where the electors of a constituency have been supplied with Electors' Photo Identity Card under the said provisions of Rule 28 of the Registration of Electors Rules, 1960, the electors shall produce their Elector Photo Identity Card at the polling station and failure or refusal on their part to produce those Elector Photo Identity Card may result in the denial of permission to vote; and

4. Whereas, a combined and harmonious reading of the aforesaid provisions of the said Act and the Rules, makes it clear that although the right to vote arises by the existence of the name in the electoral roll, it is also dependent upon the use of the Elector Photo Identity Card, where provided by the Election Commission at State cost, as the means of establishing their identity at the time of polling and that both are to be used together; and

5. Whereas, the Election Commission made an Order on the 28<sup>th</sup> August, 1993, directing the issue of Electors' Photo Identity Card (EPIC) to all electors, according to a time bound programme; and

6. Whereas, Electors' Photo Identity Card have been issued to approximate 100% electors in the country, and

7. Now, therefore, after taking into account all relevant factors and the legal and factual position, the Election Commission hereby directs that for the current General Election to the Lok Sabha and Legislative Assemblies of Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Odisha &



#### EL7/11/2024-ELEC

Sikkim, 2024 and Bye-elections to 26 Assembly Constituencies in 13 States (as per Annexure-I) to be notified on 20.03.2024, 28.03.2024, 12.04.2024, 18.04.2024, 26.04.2024, 29.04.2024, 07.05.2024 all electors who have been issued EPIC are expected to produce the EPIC for their identification at the polling stations before casting their votes. Those electors who are not able to produce the EPIC shall produce one of the following alternative photo identity documents for establishing their identity: -

(i) Aadhaar Card,

(ii) MNREGA Job Card,

(iii)Passbooks with photograph issued by Bank/Post Office,

(iv) Health Insurance Smart Card issued under the scheme of Ministry of Labour,

(v) Driving License,

(vi) PAN Card,

(vii) Smart Card issued by RGI under NPR,

(viii) Indian Passport,

(ix) Pension document with photograph,

(x) Service Identity Cards with photograph issued to employees by Central/State Govt./PSUs/Public Limited Companies,

(xi) Official identity cards issued to MPs/MLAs/MLCs, and

(xii)Unique Disability ID (UDID) Card, M/o Social Justice & Empowerment, Government of India

8. In the case of EPIC, clerical errors, spelling mistakes, etc. should be ignored provided the identity of the elector can be established by the EPIC. If an elector produces an EPIC which has been issued by the Electoral Registration Officer of another Assembly Constituency, such EPIC shall also be accepted for identification provided that the name of that elector finds place in the electoral roll pertaining to the polling station where the elector has turned up for voting. If it is not possible to establish the identity of the elector on account of mismatch of photograph, etc. the elector shall have to produce one of the alternative photo documents mentioned in Para 7 above.

9. Notwithstanding anything in Para 7 above, overseas electors who are registered in the electoral roll under Section 20A of the Representation of the People Act, 1950, based on the particulars in their Indian Passport, shall be identified on the basis of their original passport only (and no other identity document) at the polling station.

By Order,

(S.B.JOSHI) PRINCIPAL SECRETARY



•

### **Annexure-I**

S. No.	Name of State	Assembly Constituency No. & Name
1.	Bihar	195-Agiaon(SC)
2.		26 - Vijapur
3.		108 - Khambhat
4.	Gujarat	136 - Vaghodia
5.		85 - Manavadar
6.		83 - Porbandar
7.	Haryana	21-Karnal
8.	Jharkhand	31- Gandey
9.	Maharashtra	30 – Akola West
10.	Tripura	7- Ramnagar
11.		136 - Dadraul
12.		173 - Lucknow East
13.	<b>Uttar Pradesh</b>	292 - Gainsari
14.		403 – Duddhi (ST)
15.	West Bengal	62-Bhagawangola
16.		113- Baranagar
17.	Telangana	71-Secunderabad Cantt.(SC)
18.		18 - Dharamshala
19.		21 – Lahaul&Spiti (ST)
20.		37 - Sujanpur
21.		39 - Barsar
22.	<b>Himachal Pradesh</b>	42 - Gagret
23.		45 - Kutlehar
24.	Rajasthan	165 – Bagidora (ST)
25.	Karnataka	36 – Shorapur (ST)
26.	Tamil Nadu	233 - Vilavancode

PUBLISHED BY THE SUPERINTENDENT OF GOVERNMENT PRESSES AT THE GOVERNMENT CENTRAL PRESS, THIRUVANANTHAPURAM, 2024

